My Relationship With Sports

Heya,

So let’s talk sports!

I love sports, or more specifically I love some sports and within the sports I enjoy, I love playing different sports to the sports I like watching.

I like watching team sports, like rugby or hockey, especially if one of my siblings is playing. And because I’ve watched years of them playing I understand the rules so know what’s good play and can appreciate all those technical aspects of them. I also like watching those kinds of sport because it’s something I can bond with them and my dad with over. As a viewer and a player or as two viewers watching another match.

I also love watching sports that take incredible skill and discipline, and showcase ways which you can move your body that don’t seem possible like athletics, gymnastics and cheerleading.

These are very different sports to the ones that I enjoy playing. I’ve always been a bit of a klutz and more known for hitting people with the bat and ball than scoring a rounder in one. Also I’m pretty uncoordinated at times – to the extent that one teacher once told my mum I should be tested for dyspraxia before being allowed to learn how to drive. (I was not tested and I have gotten better as I’ve grown up, and I have my driving licence without issue) So team sports are not my forte, and like everyone when I compete in a sport I want to try and be the best I can, and not bring a team down. So the sports that I regularly participate in lean towards the solo event side of things. I like to run and cycle as well as do some cardio routines and yoga. All of which are solo, though I can do some as part of a class if I’m careful not to knock my neighbour with a falling three legged dog.

So yeah, it’s fair to say my relationship with sports differs depending on if I’m playing or watching. But I love it (usually) in various forms and capacities.

One thought on “My Relationship With Sports

Leave a comment